Rejuvenate

Hello my death enthusiasts!

It’s been a long time, hasn’t it?! How have you been? I am so sorry to have neglected you and this blog for a bit. Life just got crazy and I feel I wasn’t in the right head-space to really get anything meaningful down for you to read and ponder over. My semester at school, for lack of better words, completely kicked my ass. Not only that, but I started a second job to supplement my minuscule income, so this blog was put to the back burner. But I know you’ve been itching to read more from me so here we are. I am back, and let’s hope I don’t disappear again.

Since I’ve been so busy, you may be asking why I am writing now. Well the answer is simple: I’m rejuvenating. The semester ended and I knew I needed to take some time to breathe. So I scheduled an interview for an apprenticeship and took several days off of work. This time off has been a much needed “shut down”…well other than the interview (That was 15 hours of talking….). My shut down time lead me to a little road trip to Toronto. The busy metropolis welcomed me with open arms and cold rain. I didn’t mind though. For me, this little trip helped to tap into myself, which I seemed to have lost along the way. Though crazy and fast-paced, I was able to relax. I walked about 40,000 steps, took several pictures, and most importantly, stopped to breathe. I was a stranger to a city and by myself, so it’s this anonymity that I thrived on. Not a single person knew me, nor I them, and I was able to get lost among the swells of people. This was my self-care.

So what is yours? In the funeral profession, we are taught that self-care is one if the most important things you can do to make sure you stay sane. (Mind you, mental health is a real issue and just a little time off doesn’t just fix that, I more talking about the separation between the stress of work/school and the things you enjoy outside those environments.) Every day we are faced with grief, loss, and family issues and those things can take a toll. Without keeping true to the tasks that entertain you and turn the “work mode” off, that feeling of being burnt out will overcome you.

So burnt out sunk in and I neglected you. But slowly I’m coming back from this state. A little anonymity can go a long way.

Remember: Breathe. Observe. Listen. Breathe.

As always, stay intrigued by death my friends.

TC-Death Writer

Leave a comment